No
comments

Share

1 January 2020 | 4 min read

The 2020 Long Weekend Calendar is Here

     0

We don’t know about you, but this year we’re adding ‘Travel More’ to our long list of new year’s resolutions. And to make it easier, here’s the full list of long weekends coming up this year.

Please take full advantage, bookmark this list and use it to plan getaways well in advance, ask your office for strategic leaves in advance, and even grab great deals to make the most of 2020. Happy travelling!

JANUARY

Wednesday, 1 January – New Year

Thursday, 2 January – Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti (restricted)

Friday, 3 January – Take the day off

Saturday, 4 January

Sunday, 5 January

Where to go – Pondicherry for scuba-diving; Karnataka for spotting leopards and panthers; Coorg for its weather, Skiing trip to Auli, Uttarakhand; Kutch Gujarat for the White Desert.

FEBRUARY

Friday, 21 February – Mahashivratri

Saturday, 22 February

Sunday, 23 February

Where to go – Goa Carnival {22-25 February}; Gulmarg for snow-capped mountains; Ladakh for Tibetan New Year {24 – 26 February}

MARCH

Saturday, 7 March

Sunday, 8 March

Monday, 9 March – Take leave

Tuesday, 10 March – Holi

Where to go – Ranthambore for spotting tigers, Vrindavan for Holi, Shillong for the Bara Bazar; Vrindavan-Mathura for Holi, Sikkim for a quiet getaway, Hampi for its ruins and landscapes.

 APRIL

Thursday, 2 April – Ram Navami

Friday, 3 April – Take leave

Saturday, 4 April

Sunday, 5 April

6 April. Monday: Mahavir Jayanti

APRIL

Friday – Friday –  Good Friday

Saturday, 11 April – Saturday

Sunday, 12 April – Sunday

Monday, 13 April – Baisakhi

Tuesday, 14 April – Dr. Baba Saheb Ambedkar Jayanti

Where to go – Narkanda to beat the heat, Darjeeling for the tea plantations, Kalimpong for river-rafting, the Maldives for scuba diving.

MAY

Friday, 1 May – Maharashtra Day

Saturday, 2 May

Sunday, 3 May

MAY

Saturday, 23 May

Sunday, 24 May

Monday, 25 May – Id-Ul-Fitr

Where to go – Spiti for an idyllic mountain getaway, Bir-Billing for paragliding, Kerala for its backwaters, Nagaland for its fantastic weather, Tadoba, Maharashtra, for tiger spotting and Ooty for the flower show.

JULY & AUGUST

Friday, 31 July – Bakri Eid

Saturday, 1 August

Sunday, 2 August

Monday,3 August – Rakshabandhan

Where to go – Kerala for Onam, Uttarakhand for the Valley of Flowers, Cherapunjee for the monsoon, and Lahaul for Yak Safari. Check out exciting travel deals here.

AUGUST

Wednesday, 12 August – Janmashtami

Thursday, 13 August – Take leave

Friday – 14 August – Take leave

Saturday, 15 August – Independence Day

Sunday, 16 August

Where to go – Mussoorie for its waterfalls, Tanzania for the great migration, and Ha Long Bay, Vietnam for limestone islands and rainforests.

OCTOBER

Friday, 2 October – Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti

Saturday, 3 October

Sunday, 4 October

Where to go – Rishikesh for river rafting, Mysore for Dussehra, Lonavala for the sunrises, and Varkala for its beaches. Book tickets to various destinations around the world here.

NOVEMBER

Saturday, 14 November

Sunday, 15 November

Monday, 16 November – Diwali Balipratipada

NOVEMBER

Saturday, 28 November

Sunday, 29 November

Monday, 30 November – Gurunanak Jayanti

Where to go – Jaisalmer for its fort and museums, Amritsar for the Golden Temple, Varanasi for Diwali fireworks, Bandhavgarh National Park in Madhya Pradesh for tiger spotting.

DECEMBER

Friday, December 25 – Christmas

Saturday, December 26

Sunday, December 27

Where to go – Goa for its Christmas festivities; Daman & Diu for experiencing Portuguese traditions; Kerala for its Christmas decorated houseboats.

We will update this list periodically to reflect changes if any.

by Mary Martina
     0

Latest

You May Also Like

Trending on Live More Zone